top 5 classic furniture pieces

I’ve got a habit of saving any pictures on the internet I like.  This wouldn’t present too much of a problem for most people, but I’m on the internet a lot.  And this means a lot of photos.  In the past year I’ve amassed over 2000 pictures of home interiors that I particularly liked.  I’ve got a bunch of ideas when it does come to finding furniture and decorating, but it’s a pain looking through all the pictures to find one.

What I’ve discovered is that any interior I like is usually based around a few key pieces.  I’m not exactly why I like these pieces or even mid-century furniture in general, but it seems the most timeless to me.  Here they are in no particular order:

Eames Molded Plywood Lounge Chair (LCW)

Screen shot 2009-11-14 at 7.48.53 PM

I think the LCW chair might have actually gotten me into mid-century furniture.  Previous to that, my style was “whatever looks good”, and while I suppose that’s what everyone’s style is, I can now narrow it down a little better to styles/time periods.  I got a chance to sit in this at Design Within Reach and while it isn’t the most comfortable chair (it’s all wood), it’s absolutely stunning.  Palisander or walnut would be preferred colors (I believe palisander is pictured).

8a2d96a709e704c10083b44bde20807cebacde13_m

Eames Hang-It-All

Screen shot 2009-11-14 at 7.54.27 PMMy wonderful girlfriend likes to poke fun of the fact that I like this because she claims it belongs it a kids room.  And I think that’s part of why I like it – it would work in an entryway, a kids room, pretty much anywhere.  Nothing really elaborate, just simple construction from steel and maple.  I imagine it working like this in a home:

01eames8-18-09_rect540

2_28_09_kelvin_jacqueline20658

George Nelson Platform Bench

01shelves8-12-09_rect540

Again, a very simple design.  When I was at one of DWR’s locations, you walk in, head up stairs and take a right at the top to see the rest of the offerings.  Placed right at the top was this piece, and had I not known what it was, wouldn’t have given it a second glance.  I really like that it could work as seating or as a coffee table.  However with my love for coffee table books, I might end up needing two if somebody wants to sit down.

2-23-09declutter1

Emeco 1006 Navy Side Chair

Screen shot 2009-11-14 at 8.13.21 PM

Noticing a trend?  Classic, and yet functional.  The 77 step process that makes each 1006 chair has remained unchanged since 1944.  The result is a lifetime guarantee on the chair and an expected life of 150 years.  And if you’re looking for something flashier, Phillipe Starck made a polished version as well as the brushed version seen above.

Eames Lounge and Ottoman

8950db23cd6b86d918deeca786529983694dbebc_m

Piper Building

Another classic piece from Eames.  Designed to look like a well-worn first basemans baseball mitt, there is nowhere else I’d rather be after a long day.  All the individual components are replaceable which means it can be repaired and restored for generations to come.

I’m no expert in design, but I do know what I like.  And these five pieces round up to me essentials in an apartment/home I’d like to live in.  And I know I left out some really great pieces, but I had to limit it to five.  The Barcelona Chair, Sapien bookcase, Noguchi table and Eames Management Chair were close seconds…

One response to “top 5 classic furniture pieces

  1. That last chair is placed close to a staircase I would feel is too dangerous to use! This is a great list post! It was good to see all these great furniture pieces. Now I know what to buy when I have have money for furniture…

Leave a Reply

