and the collection grows

I wrote up a post about the Lamy mechanical pencil nearly two months ago, and I’ve used it long enough in order to give an honest review.

Screen shot 2009-11-04 at 9.22.24 PMThe ever important question, is any mechanical pencil worth $22.00?  I guess in the long run, it depends on how well you can hold onto your items.  But in my case, I’ve found that yes, it was worth it, and I defintely would recommend it to others.

I was having a conversation with my brother about it and I said something to the effect of if you’re a race car driver, you have a R&D team and a manufacturer and pit crew all so that you can go and go faster around the track than other drivers.  And if you’re a musician, chances are you are going to have top of the line instruments in order to ensure that your vision is accurately transferred to audio.  In my case, I’m a student, and my relevant tool right now is my pencil.  Transferring my thoughts and knowledge to the paper should be as seamless as possible, augmented through the help of a writing utensil that isn’t obtrusive but seemingly non-existent.

Style-wise, the Lamy Safari fits my personality perfectly.  Just as with my Visvims, it’s understated excellence.  Most people wouldn’t notice it, and that’s the way I prefer it.  It’s not necessarily something you’d want to see an executive or politician using, but for a 20-something college student, I think it’s perfect.  And in fact, I enjoy the design of the mechanical pencil so much, the collection has grown a little larger:

IMG_0704(from front to back: yellow Safari mechanical pencil, matte charcoal Safari fountain pen, orange Safari fountain pen)

If you’re tired of going through multiple packs of Bic pencils each semester, grab a Lamy Safari and hold onto it.  And if you’re environmentally conscious, you can enjoy the fact that a.) you won’t be throwing out tons of mechanical pencils and b.) if your Lamy does break, it is covered under a lifetime warranty and can be repaired.

2 responses to “and the collection grows

  1. Hey man, good to see you back posting again!

    I think I lost my Lamy Safari fountain pen. 😦

    Some asshole is ruining the nib right now!

  2. Pick up a new one. That’s the beauty of it, they’re pricier than Bic or what you’d find at an office supply store but they’re not crazy.

Leave a Reply

