iphone 3.0 os: hands on hnirz exclusive

Shifting gears from the usual fashion and design posts, I wanted to do a hands-on guide so you know what to expect when the new iPhone 3.0 software releases June 17th.  This won’t be nearly as in-depth as you may find on other websites as the point is to show the main that I’ve seen (as shown by the HNIRZ drops).

SMS:

  • Now available in landscape mode-

IMG_0482

  • By pressing “Edit”, you can delete individual texts and forward them as well:

IMG_0483

  • A “sending message” completion bar-

IMG_0480

Copy & Paste is easy.  Say I want to copy the link for a Gilt.com invitation and send it to my friend in an email.  First, I pull up the original email:

IMG_0484

And I tap and hold next to the link and this bar comes up:

IMG_0485

And tap “Select” because I only want to copy the link:

IMG_0486
I tap and hold the left circle and drag it to the beginning of the link.

IMG_0487

Now I tap “Copy”, open up a new email and double tap in the body of the email.

IMG_0489

Simply press “Paste” and voila.  You have just copy and pasted on the iPhone.  You could have also just tap and held the link and copied it that way, but obviously that method doesn’t work for regular text.

  • A search bar in Mail (and in landscape mode):

IMG_0492

And finally Spotlight (a left swipe from the main screen):

IMG_0478

IMG_0479

Overall, the build is very stable and fast.  I’m impressed.  I haven’t had any hang ups so far but Visual Voicemail was a little messed up for a few hours and cleared up after a restart.  It was a little scary to see this:

IMG_0477

Two thumbs up as usual for a great Apple product.

Leave a Reply

