better cop that shuffle

Actually, don’t.  Seriously, the new Shuffle is cool but Apple failed to follow Louis Sullivan’s famous quote, “form ever follows function”.  I’m all about minimalism and modern design, but form should never ever reduce the functionality of a product.

picture-23

I do digress though.  I was contacted through a dear friend of mine regarding my blog (which never happens) and she suggested that I inject it with some tunes.  As you have seen, I have a distinct style in what I like and that definitely transcends into music as well.

Before class, or going to class, you will always see me with my headphones in.  I literally need all the time I can to review all the music I download.  I do a majority of my procuring from great websites such as http://www.prettyamazing.com but there are also other ways I obtain my musical selections.  I just want to preface this post by stating I take no credit for music I find, just the fact that like many others, I can recognize a good song from a terrible song and try to get my friends into it before it turns into the biggest thing.

I was on Kanye West’s “Stronger” at least 4 months before everyone else – I remember blasting that terrible DJ dropped version over 4th of July (Mark Ronson if I remember correctly), and I feel like it happens all the time (Day N Nite anyone?).  So if you are interested in being on top of the game and have some new jams, stay tuned.  I don’t think I feel comfortable posting download links, but I’ll give everyone a hint.  For new new songs, Google the song name and add Zshare to the search.  9 times out of 10, you’ll be able to download it for free 99.  Actually, to kick this off, I’ll get you guys as many links as I can.  Now for the actual post:

Red Cafe “Hottest In Da Hood” – one of the sickest, sickest beats I’ve heard in a long time.  It rivals “Everybody Nose Remix” for that sick drum beat.  The remix with Consequence is definitely better, but either versions are download worthy.  Plus, what a pump up song, everybody wants to be the hottest in their hood.

Little Boots “New In Town (Fred Falke Remix)” – I’ve heard a few of Little Boot’s songs and I’ve never really been a fan.  But the incredibly vocal chorus just makes you want to get up and start singing, “I’m going to take you out tonight, I’m going to make you feel alright, I don’t have a lot of money but we’ll be fine, no I don’t have money but I’m going to show you a good time”.  The remix is a little long at 7:29 but definitely worth it.

Cyndi Lauper “The Goonies ‘R’ Good Enough” – this song is playing when the older brother (Brandt?) is working out and gets tied to the chair by the younger brother, Mikey.  For those 80s jam sessions – not sure if this ever blew up but if you’ve seen Goonies in the last 5 years you know this song oh too well.

Keri Hilson “Knock You Down” – sorry, but you’re already out of the loop if you aren’t on this track.  Keri (who is my girl) and Kanye AND Ne-Yo on a track?  Might as well shut down the Grammys, this song is going to steal it all.  In all honesty, it won’t.  But imagine Keri Hilson’s jam “Turnin’ Me On” but with ‘Ye and Ne-Yo instead of Wayne.  Crazy, crazy.

Leave a Reply

