designer spotlight: neil poulton

I’ve been doing some research lately for some computer upgrades – namely storage, memory and sound.  While I’ve got memory covered, by search for storage and sound led me to a pretty big name in the industry: Lacie.  While I had seen their bus-powered speakers before on numerous websites before, I never knew they was designed by Neil Poulton.  Now with my MacBook, I’ve decided to pick up the speakers as well as the hard drive he designed, taking cues from 2001: A Space Odyssey.  The monolith design is understated in the perfect way.  Comically, he also produced a line of hard drives that look like HAL, which are not as attractive in my opinion but definitely still giving recognition to 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Hard Drive:

And these speakers are actually bus-powered (USB 2.0 or Firewire) so that means no power brick/cable to deal with.  And obviously as shown with this iBook, they’re going to look sick with my MB.  Sure, audio quality won’t compare to my current setup, but that’s okay.  Having a 5.1 system has way too many wires to route properly in an environment where I need to move them every semester.

I really applaud Mr. Poulton for designing attractive and useful products.  So often, it seems as though form completely overshadows function, and similarly, function isn’t always the prettiest thing.  It seems as though in both designs, form and function were considered and made to co-exist.  We’ll see how both of these items fair in my everyday use…

One response to “designer spotlight: neil poulton

  1. Pingback: designer spotlight: neil poulton

Leave a Reply

